Wolf Moon

After not seeing the moon in hardly any of its glory for the whole of January amid these cold and deep snows of midwinter…”at last” I’m glad to say, that on its first Fullcast of 2013 she reveals her ‘Full’ glory over Leeds for me to capture… I hope those wolf packs are howling hungrily outside their Indian villages tonight, thus giving their name to this January full Moon. Although sometimes it was also referred to as the Old Moon, or the Moon After Yule, some also called it the Full Snow Moon, but most tribes applied that name to the next Moon….lets hope we see the Snow Moon in February, but until then, lets howl at this majestic Wolf Moon.The 1st Fullcast of 2013

30 thoughts on “Wolf Moon”

  1. Not a cloud in the sky here last eve…a beautiful viewing of the Wolf Moon…however, we refrained from howling…amazing photo, as usual…”top drawer” 😉

    1. Thanks Anita, I’m usually a ‘front & centre’ kind of guy when it comes to Moon shots, but this time I tried a different approach… Which I liked also 🙂

  2. That is some serious moon ….. must have been the same moon as I had on Thursday *smile
    Also took some photos, but it was in the afternoon – not even close to yours … but it will be a little post with a couple of photo. I’m a moon girl since I was a kid … http://wp.me/p293Pw-VZ
    This is stunning.

    1. Thanks Viveka, your moon post is such a beautiful one, I really loved the quote ‘“Aim for the moon. If you miss, you may hit a star” by W. Clement Stone.

      I’m currently converting the loft and adding in some skylights as well, so we all (mainly me) can watch the stars and moon.

      Thanks Carl 🙂

    1. Hi Lucy
      I used a 300mm Lens, the settings for that shot was F5.6 at 1/500. I always find wind is problem when shooting with such a long lens, but the higher shutter speeds helps.
      Thanks Carl

  3. In the Texas Hill Country this is, to the best of my knowledge, know as “Comanche Moon” as in nights with such a moon it was light enough for the Comanche to attack.
    Best regards from souther Texas,
    Pit

    1. Hi Pit
      I’m always interested in local names for the monthly full moon, most of the used names are North American Indian, with a few Gallic and Celtic one’s thrown in for good measure.
      Cheers Carl 🙂

  4. Pingback: ofsol

Leave a comment